Future Meetings
How to Join
Past Meetings
SMSI Awards

SMSI Awards 1976 - 1980

1976-1977 Annual Award

Oscar W. Richards, College of Optometry, Pacific University, Forest Grove, Oregon. As former chief biologist at the Research Laboratory of the American Optical Company, he was instrumental in developing AO's phase contrast and interference microscopy systems. In addition to being one of the authors of Phase Microscopy (John Wiley, 1951), he has written numerous articles pertaining to varied areas of microscopy, such as vision and microscopy, and the history of American microscopy. He was also the former editor of the Journal of the American Microscopical Society,

1976-1977 Honorary Award

Mr. R.I. Firth of Sussex, England, a diatomist of international renown whose skills at mounting diatoms were known throughout the world. He also made to order mechanical fingers for diatom mounting.

1977-1978 Annual Award

W.M.D. Bryant of West Chester, PA, who was involved with microscopy at DuPont for years. Bill Bryant has applied microscopy to archeological investigation and his home lab was replete with self designed and built equipment of simple, yet elegant design. His major interest was conoscopy.

1977-1978 Honorary Awards

Dr. Dieter Krauter of the W. Keller & Company, Kosmos-Verlag, Stuttgart, Germany, for promoting the art and science of microscopy among amateurs. His book, Mikroskopie in Alltag (1954) was translated into English as Experimenting with the Microscope (1963) and is aimed at amateurs. He is the publisher and editor of Mikrokosmos, a well-known journal slanted towards the amateur microscopist. He is also associated with the German Microbiological Society-Stuttgart and the microbiological societies of Hamburg, Mannheim, and Munich, the Micrographic Society of Vienna and the Microscopical Society of Zurich.

Dr. Max Frei of Zurich, Switzerland was honored for outstanding contributions to the field of Forensic microscopy. He served as head of the Zurich technical police laboratory for over 20 years and his article, "Die Sicherung von Mikrospuren mit Klebband" published in 1951, introduced the use of adhesive tape to the collection of microclues from surfaces for subsequent examinations. As an authority in trace evidence examination, he was able in one case to trace a suspect to his doorstep from the crime scene from a clump of mud left at the site. He is the author of many articles dealing with the solution of crimes using microscopy.

1978-1979 Annual Awards

F. Donald Bloss, Department of Geological Science, VPI and SU Blacksburg, Virginia. He has written numerous papers and books on chemical and optical crystallography and was honored for his contributions in theoretical and applied optical crystallography.

Mr. Charles C. Fulton of Venice, Florida for his lifelong efforts to promote the use and development of microcrystal tests. His numerous papers published in the field led up the publication of Modern Microcrystal Tests for Drugs. Currently retired, Mr. Fulton is working on an outline of the history of "microcrystalloscopy."

1978-1979 Honorary Awards

Dr. Maksymilian Pluta of the Centraline Laboratorium Optyki, Warszawa, Poland. He was honored for his publications and also for his theoretical and applied work in the areas of stereoscopic phase-contrast microscopy; amplitude-contrast microscopy using soot amplitude rings; highly sensitive phase-contrast microscopy; and shearing polarization interference microscopy.

Dr. Ernst P. Martin of F├╝llinsdorf, Switzerland, was recognized for his application of microscopical techniques to the forensics sciences. As director of the criminalistics laboratory of the city of Basel, he applied his knowledge in both his case work and research which resulted in numerous publications. After retiring in 1975, he continued to conduct research and served as a consultant to agencies in several countries.

1979-1980 Annual Award

Dale Quackenbush

1979-1980 Annual Award

Dale Quackenbush

1980-1981 Annual Award

Dr. Bertram Woodland

| History | 1967-1984 | 2000 | 2001-2004 | 2005 | 2006-2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018 |

©2011-2018 by State Microscopical Society of Illinois | Webmaster |